ND AWWA believes in recognizing people and organizations who have made significant contributions to the water industry. It is through their hard work and dedication that we have a water industry that we can be proud of.

Operator Meritorious Service Award

The Operator's Meritorious Service Award recognizes water supply or distribution operators who achieve special performance in one or more of the following areas:

  • Continuous compliance with public health standards in drinking water,
  • Consistent and outstanding contribution to plant maintenance,
  • Development of new and/or modified equipment or significant process modifications to provide for more efficient and/or effective treatment,
  • Special efforts in training operators,
  • Special acts not directly related to water treatment, but which demonstrate dedication to the public beyond normal operating responsibilities, and
  • Consistent and outstanding contribution to operation and/or maintenance of distribution lines, pump stations, and reservoirs.
Award Recipients:
1993 None 2005 None
1994 Rick Gillund, Enderlin 2006 Jerome Olson, Traill Rural Water Users
1995 Byron Thronson, Minot 2007 Dennis Howey, Gwinner
1996 Jim Evenson, Grand Forks 2008 Donald Zhorela, Grand Forks
1997 Randy Loeslie, Grand Forks-Traill Water Users 2009 Gary Zander, Mandan
1998 Gary Hager, Upper Souris Water Users Association 2010 Doug Neibauer, South Central Regional Water District
1999 James Anderson, Hillsboro 2011 Darrell Bullhead, Sr., Standing Rock Sioux Tribe
2000 Arlis Bischoff, Grafton 2012 Kenneth Miskavige, City of Grafton
2001 None 2013 Rodney Kalis, City of Grand Forks
2002 Gregg Christensen, Cass Rural Water Users 2014 Rodney Arness, City of Minot
2003 None    
2004 Jerry Zander, Mandan    


George Warren Fuller Award

The George Warren Fuller Award is presented annually by each AWWA section to a member for distinguished service in the water supply field in commemoration of the sound engineering skill, the brilliant diplomatic talent, and the constructive leadership that characterized the life of George Warren Fuller.

Award Recipients:
1993 Ralph Riedinger 2004 Miranda Kleven
1994 Richard Wanner 2005 Lisa Ansley
1995 Dale Hanson 2006 Rick Gillund
1996 Hazel Sletten 2007 Charlie Vein
1997 Mel Bullinger 2008 David Bruschwein
1998 Byron Thronson 2009 Deon Stockert
1999 Steve Burian 2010 None
2000 Larry Thelen 2011 Meredith Quinn
2001 Pat Denne 2012 None
2002 Jack Long 2013 Brett Jochim
2003 Don Olafson 2014 Greg Wara


Kenneth J Miller Founders Award

The Kenneth J. Miller Water For People Founder's Award is presented to volunteers in recognition of outstanding service and leadership in the advancement of the Water For People mission.

Award Recipients:  

2006    Charlie Vein, AE2S
2007    None
2008    David Bruschwein, NDDH

2009    None
2010    Hazel Sletten, City of Grand Forks
2011    Larry Thelen, NDDH


Life Member Award

The Life Member Award is presented to those who have maintained AWWA membership for 30 years.

Award Recipients:

2008: Tom Little - City of Mandan
2007: Randy Loeslie - City of Valley City 
2006: Mike Yavarow - City of Grand Forks
2011: Gary Hager - Upper Souris Water Users District

Drinking Water Taste Test Awards

Each year, the ND AWWA presents the Drinking Water Taste Test Award to the city judged to have the best tasting drinking water. Competing cities submit water samples which are tested by a panel of judges at the North Dakota Water Pollution and Control Conference.

Award Recipients:

2009: City of Valley City
2008: City of Enderlin 
2007: City of Grand Forks
2006: City of Minot
2010: City of Mayville
2011: City of Fargo
2012: City of Mayville
2013: City of Medina
2014: City of Fargo

The Gold Water Drop Award

The Gold Water Drop Award is given to recognize members who have provided valuable service and support for AWWA programs and goals through their long standing Association membership. Eligibility for the award requires that the individual be a member in good standing who has maintained active membership for 50 years.

Award Recipients:

2007: Kenneth (Ken) Ruby

AWWA Honorary Membership Award

AWWA Honorary Membership is presented to individuals whose knowledge and accomplishments in the field of water supply entitle them to special recognition. 

Award Recipients:

2009: Steve Burian